Home » Articles posted by Casandra Maier

Author Archives: Casandra Maier

Electrical Contractor Licensing in Nevada

The State of Nevada requires any individual or business that performs the work of an Electrical Contractor to hold a license.  A license is required any time the cost of the project is over $1,000, including labor and materials.  Licenses are issued by the Nevada State Contractors Board.

As part of the licensing process, contractors must meet the Board’s requirements for work experience and pass an exam related to business management, construction law and the trade of electrical contracting.  The contractor must meet the Board’s requirements; or choose someone within their company to act as a qualifying individual and (more…)

Related Posts

Electrical Contractor Licensing in Montana

In order to perform electrical work in the State of Montana, contractors are required to hold a license.  It is illegal to engage in electrical work in Montana without a license or temporary work permit.  Licenses are issued by the Montana State Electrical Board, which is part of the Montana Department of Labor & Industry.

As part of the licensing process, contractors are required to meet the Board’s requirements for insurance, employing a responsible party, education or work experience, and in some cases, (more…)

Related Posts

Electrical Contractor Licensing in Delaware

It is illegal to perform electrical work or to offer electrical services in the State of Delaware without a license.  Electrical Contractors are required to hold a license from the Division of Professional Regulations’ Board of Electrical Examiners.

The Board protects the welfare and safety of the public by maintaining professional standards and ensuring that all licensed persons are competent to perform electrical work.  As part of the licensing process, contractors are required to (more…)

Related Posts

Electrical Contractor Licensing in South Dakota

In order to contract or engage in work on electrical projects in the State of South Dakota, contractors are required to hold a license.  Licenses are issued by the South Dakota Electrical Commission, which is part of the SD Department of Labor and Regulation.

As part of the licensing process, contractors are required to meet the Commission’s requirements for work experience.  All contractors are required to start at the apprentice level and work their way up.  Contractors are also required to take and pass an examination.

License Classifications for Electrical Contractors in South Dakota

The South Dakota Electrical Commission offers the following license classifications to Electrical Contractors:

  • Electrical Contractor License- for contractors with the necessary skills and experience to plan, lay-out, and supervise the installation, wiring and repair of electrical apparatuses and equipment.
  • Class B Electrician License- for contractors with the necessary skills and experience to perform wiring, installations and repairs of electrical apparatuses and equipment.
  • Maintenance Electrician License- allows the contractor to perform electrical maintenance work for a firm, public entity, partnership, limited liability company or corporation.
  • Journeyman Electrician License- for contractors with at least 4 years of apprenticeship experience, allowing the individual to have the skills and knowledge to wire, repair and install electrical wiring apparatuses and equipment under the direct supervision of an Electrical Contractor.
  • Apprentice Electrician Registration- allows contractors to learn the electrical trade while working under the employment and supervision of an Electrical Contractor, Journeyman or Class B Electrician.
*All contractors are required to start their electrical career at the apprenticeship-level and work their way up the journeyman-level before they may become licensed in another classification.  A minimum of 4 years at the apprenticeship-level is required, with an additional 2 years at the journeyman-level under the supervision of an electrical contractor. 

For more information about the license classifications offered by the Commission, and the scope of work they are allowed to perform, please contact the Commission at:

605-733-3573 or toll free at: 800-233-7765

OR

Visit: Electricians and Electrical Contractors

Process to Obtain an Electrical Contractor License in South Dakota

  1. Contractors are required to fulfill the Commission’s requirements for work experience based on their chosen license classification.
  2. Certain license classifications are required to post a bond with the Commission and obtain public liability insurance.
  3. Contractors are required to complete and submit an application to the Commission along with the required documents and fees.
  4. Contractors must take and pass and exam based on their chosen license classification.
  5. Contractors are required to attend 16 hours of continuing education courses every 2 years upon renewal.

Work Experience Requirement

In order to be eligible to take the examination, all contractors are required to meet the Commission’s requirements for work experience, based on their chosen license classification:

  • Electrical Contractors- must have at least 2 years of work experience (4,000 hours) as a Journeyman Electrician, under the direct supervision of an Electrical Contractor. At least one of these years must be spent performing commercial wiring.  If the contractor holds a Class B Electrician license and is applying for an Electrical Contractor license, they must prove at least 1 additional year performing commercial wiring under the employment and supervision of an Electrical Contractor.
  • Class B Electrician- must have at least 2 years of work experience (4,000 hours) as a Journeyman Electrician under the direct supervision of a Class B Electrician or Electrical Contractor. At least one of these years must be spent performing residential/farmstead wiring.
  • Journeyman Electrician- must have at least 4 years of electrical training (8,000 hours) as an Apprentice, under the employment and supervision of a licensed Electrical Contractor or Class B Electrician.
*Apprentice Electricians and Maintenance Electricians do not have to meet any prior work experience requirements. 

The types of work experiences that count toward the requirement include:

  • Residential/Farmstead Wiring
  • Commercial/Industrial Wiring
  • Electrical Schooling (a maximum for 2,000 hours)
  • Apprenticeship Classes
*If the contractor is claiming schooling or apprenticeship classes, they must provide the name of the school/organization.  If the contractor is claiming another kind of work experience, they must detail the type of experience. 

The person verifying the contractor’s work experience must complete the Verification Form. For a copy of this form, please visit:

Verification Request Form

Contractors must list all current and previous employers for which they are claiming experience.  They must also provide the complete address of all employers listed.  If the address is not complete, the application will be delayed, and possibly rejected.

For more information about the work experience requirement, please contact the Commission:

605-733-3573 or toll free at: 800-233-7765

Preparing and Submitting an Application

For a copy of the license application, please visit the link below:

License Applications & Other Forms

Choose the application for the appropriate license classification.  The above link also provides a link to the online version of the application.  Only Class B Electricians and Electrical Contractors have the option of completing the application online.

All applications must be printed in ink or typewritten.  Be sure to read and follow all instructions.  Answer all questions and leave nothing blank.  If a question does not apply, simply write, “None.”  Please note that the Commission returns all applications with missing and incomplete information.

Be sure to sign and date the application.

All Class B Electrician and Electrical Contractor applicants are required to post a surety bond with the Commission and obtain public liability insurance.

Surety bonds must be in the amount of $10,000.  For a copy of the bond form, please visit the link below.  All bond forms must be signed and notarized:

Bond Application

Public liability insurance must be no less than $100,000 per occurrence with a $300,000 aggregate limit for bodily injury, as well as property damage insurance with limits no less than $25,000.  The Commission will also accept a combined single limit policy in the amount of $300,000.

There is a non-refundable application fee of $40 for all Electrical Contractors, Class B Electricians and Journeyman.  These license classes are also required to pay a licensing fee of:

  • Electrical Contractors- $100
  • Class B Electricians- $40
  • Journeyman Electricians- $40

The cost to apply for Apprenticeship registration is $20.  The cost to apply for a Maintenance Electrician license is $40.

The Commission accepts payments in the form of check or money order made payable to, “State Electrical Commission.”

Mail the completed application, along with the required documents and fees to:

South Dakota State Electrical Commission
308 S. Pierre
Pierre, SD 57501-5070

It takes the Commission approximately 30 days to process applications.  Once the application is approved, the Commission will send information about taking the exam.

For more information about the application or the application process, contact the Commission at:

605-733-3573 or toll free at: 800-233-7765

The Examination

Contractors must take and pass an exam in order to receive their license.

In order to take the exam, all contractors must get a written approval from the Commission.  Written approval is given at the time the Commission approves the contractor’s application.

Upon approval, contractors have 90 days in which to make arrangements to take the exam.

The cost to take the examination is no more than $150, based on the laws and regulations for Electricians and Electrical Contractors in South Dakota.

For more information about the exam or the examination process, contact Diana at the Commission office:

800-233-7765

OR

Visit: Electrician’s Examination

How Long is a South Dakota Electrical Contractor License Valid?

All electrical licenses and registrations are good for a period of 2 years in the State of South Dakota.  Licenses expire on June 30th of the even-numbered year.

Renewal fees are the same as the licensing fee for each classification.

In order to renew a license or registration, all contractors are required to complete 16 hours of approved continuing education courses.  Of these hours, 8 must be code-related.  The Commission requires that contractors submit completion certificates as proof that they have completed the continuing education requirement.

For a list of pre-approved continuing education providers, course types, dates and locations, please visit:

SD Electrical Commission- Continuing Education

Additionally all Electrical Contractors and Class B Electricians are required to provide up-to-date insurance information and deposit $50 with the Commission to keep their bond current during each renewal period.

Maintenance Electricians must have a minimum of 1 requested inspection, in the form of an approved third party inspection or waiver in order to renew.

For more information about license or registration renewal, contact the Commission at:

605-733-3573 or toll free at: 800-233-7765

Table of Fees

Fee What is it For? When is it Due?
$40 Application Fee for all Electrical Contractors, Class B Electricians and Journeyman Upon submitting the license application
$100 License and Renewal Fee for Electrical Contractors Upon submitting the license application and every 2 years upon renewal
$40 License and Renewal Fee for all Class B Electricians, Journeyman and Maintenance Electricians Upon submitting the license application and every 2 years upon renewal
$20 License and Renewal Fee for Apprentice Electricians Upon submitting the license application and every 2 years upon renewal
$150 Examination Fee Upon making arrangements to take the exam

Related Posts

Electrical Contractor Licensing in Alaska

Electrical Contractors in the State of Alaska are required to hold a license.  Anyone offering to perform electrical work must hold a license or employ a licensed Electrical Administrator to qualify and oversee their work.    Licenses are issued by the Alaska Department of Commerce, Community and Economic Development: Corporations, Business & Professional Licensing.

The Department is responsible for ensuring that all electrical work within the state is performed safely, by qualified individuals.  In order to obtain a license, the individual must meet the Department’s requirements for work experience and/or education, and pass an exam.

*In some cases, contractors may also be required to obtain an Alaska Business License.  For more information, please visit:

State of Alaska- Business Licensing Division

License Classifications and Categories for Electrical Contractor in Alaska

An Electrical Administrator license allows contractors to install and repair electrical wiring, conduits, devices, fixtures, equipment and materials used for transmitting and consuming electrical energy.  Additionally, this license allows contractors to oversee and inspect electrical work and materials to ensure that everything is up to codes and safety standards.

Within this license classification, the Department offers the following categories so that contractors may specialize in a specific type of electrical work:

  • Residential Wiring (RW)
  • Unlimited Commercial Wiring (UCW)
  • Unlimited Line Work (UL)
  • Outside Communications (OC)
  • Inside Communications (IC)
  • Controls and Control Wiring (CNTL)

The scope of work allowed for each license category is found in the application packet.  To view a copy of the application, please visit:

Electrical Administrator License Application

The scope of work for each license category is also found in the Electrical Administrators Statutes and Regulations. Please visit:

Statutes and Regulations: Electrical Administrators

For questions about the license categories available and the scope of work they are allowed to perform, contact the Department at:

907-465-8443

OR

Email: jerry.hannasch@alaska.gov

Process to Obtain an Electrical Contractor License in Alaska

  1. Contractors must obtain or employ someone who holds an Electrical Administrator license to oversee all electrical work
  2. Those applying for a license must meet the Department’s requirements for work experience and/or education based on their chosen license category
  3. Contractors must submit an application to the Department, along with all the required documents and fees
  4. Contractors must take and pass the examination, administered by PSI Services
  5. Contractors must attend continuing education workshops every 2 years upon renewal

Work Experience and Education Requirement

Before the Department will approve the contractor to take the exam, they must prove that they meet the requirements for work experience and/or education, based on their chosen license category:

  • Residential Wiring (RW)- must have 4 years of work experience, with at least 2 years as a Journeyman performing residential wiring work.
  • Unlimited Commercial Wiring (UCW) and Unlimited Line Work (UL)- must have 6 years of work experience, with at least 4 years of practical experience as a Journeyman or 4 years of construction management experience within the license category the contractor is applying for.
  • Outside Communications (OC) and Inside Communications (IC)- must have 4 years of work experience with at least 2 years of experience as a Journeyman performing outside/ inside communications work; or be a graduate of a college, university or trade school in outside/ inside communications.
  • Controls and Control Wiring (CNTL)- must hold a mechanical administrator license for at least 4 years, in addition to 2 years of experience as a Journeyman installing low voltage controls (48 volts or less) and at least 2 years of construction management experience in low voltage control wiring.
*The Department also accepts other combinations of education and work experience.  More information about what is acceptable for each license category is found in the application packet, as well as in the statutes and rules for Electrical Administrators.  For more information, please visit the links below:
Electrical Administrator License Application
 Statutes and Regulations: Electrical Administrators

All applicants are required to provide a complete resume, detailing their work experience and education in the license category for which they are applying.

When using work experience to meet the requirement, the person who is verifying the contractor’s experience must send a notarized certificate directly to the Department.  Contractors are required to provide at least 3 references.

In order to count toward the work experience requirement, references must:

  1. Be licensed by the electrical industry in the category for which the contractor is applying
  2. Have direct knowledge of the contractor’s skills and work experience
*The Department will contact all references and persons verifying the contractor’s work experience. 

When using education to meet the requirement, transcripts must be sent to the Department, directly from the college, university or trade school that the contractor attended.  In order to count toward the requirement, schools must be properly accredited or approved by the Alaska Commission in Postsecondary Education.

For questions about the work experience and education requirement, and the types of experiences that count toward the requirement, contact the Department at:

907-465-8443

OR

Email: jerry.hannasch@alaska.gov

Preparing and Submitting an Application

Contractors are required to submit an application to the Department in order to gain approval to take the exam.

For a copy of the license application packet, please visit:

Electrical Administrator License Application

Be sure to read all instructions and follow all directions on the application.  Do not leave any questions blank.  If a questions does not applying, simply indicate, not applicable, “N/A.”

All applications must be notarized.

Remember that a complete application packet includes the following:

  • Indication of the license category for which the contractor is applying
  • Official transcripts for any education that is being used to satisfy the requirement
  • Complete resume detailing education and work experience
  • Notarized certificate from 3 references in support of the contractor’s work experience
  • Required fees
*All applicants are also required to indicate the licensed/registered contractor to which they will be assigned.  If the applicant does not plan to work with a contractor at the time they apply, they will be given an “unassigned” status. 

There is a non-refundable $250 fee which must be submitted along with the application.  This includes the license fee and application fee.  The Department accepts payments in the form of check or money order, made payable to the, “State of Alaska.”

Mail the completed application, along with all the required documents and fees to:

Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development
Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing
Contractor Licensing Section
P.O. Box 110806
Juneau, AK 99811-0806

The Department also accepts applications in-person at their physical address:

State Office Building
333 Willoughby Ave, 9th Floor
Juneau, AK 99801

Once the Department approves the contractor’s application, they will be sent an exam eligibility letter, along with instructions for registering for the licensing exam.

Contractors must submit their test scores to the Department upon passing the exam.

Direct questions about the application and licensing process to the Department’s Licensing Examiner, Jerry Hannasch:

907-465-8443

OR

Email: jerry.hannasch@alaska.gov

The Examination Process

The Department holds a contract with PSI Services to administer the exam.  Once the contractor’s application is approved and they receive an exam eligibility letter from the Department, they must register for and schedule their exam with PSI.

Contractors have one year from the time that their application is approved to take and pass the exam.

The computer-based examination is designed to test the contractor’s knowledge of their chosen license category.  Exams cover the following information:

  • Plans and Design Specifications
  • Engineering Terms
  • Electrical Installations and Wiring
  • National Electric Code Regulations and Safety Codes
  • Regulations approved by the American Standards Association

PSI’s Candidate Information Bulletin contains all the information needed to register for the exam, including the exam registration form, suggested references and study materials, and exam content outlines.  For a copy of the bulletin, please visit:

PSI- Candidate Information Bulletin

Applicants may register for the exam ONE of the following ways:

  • Online- go to the PSI website and follow the link for new user registration: psiexams.com
  • By Phone- call PSI and use their automated system 24 hours a day.  Representative are standing by to assist callers during regular business hours:
    (800) 733-9267
  • Fax- when registering by fax, allow 4 business days for processing.  Fax the registration form and payment information to:
    (702) 932-2666.
  • By mail: allow approximately 2 weeks for processing when submitting the exam registration form by mail.  Complete the exam registration form from the Candidate Information Bulletin.  Mail the registration form and payment to:

PSI Licensure: Certification
3210 E Tropicana
Las Vegas, NV 89121

The cost to take the exam is $150

PSI accepts payments in the form of:

  • Cashier’s Check or Money Order may payable to “PSI.”
  • Visa or Mastercard when applying online or by phone or fax

Once PSI accepts the exam registration form, it is the applicant’s responsibility to call PSI to schedule their exam.   To schedule an exam, call PSI at:

(800) 733-9267

Testing Centers are located in:

  • Fairbanks
  • Juneau
  • Anchorage
  • Ketchikan
  • Kodiak

On the day of the test, examinees should arrive at least 30 minutes for before their scheduled test to allow time for check-in.  They are also required to bring 2 forms of identification, including:

  1. A government issued photo id with the examinee’s signature; such as a driver’s license or passport
  2. Another form of identification with the examinee’s name and signature; such as a credit card or debit card.

Contractors are required to pass the exam with a minimum score of 70%.  Scores are issued same-day, before the contractor leaves the testing center.

The Department allows an unlimited number of exam re-takes during the year in which the contractor is approved to take the test.  If the contractor does not pass the exam within that years’ time, they must re-apply and submit a new application.

Exam results are valid for one year.  Upon passing the exam, the contractor must notify the Department in order to receive their license.

*Electrical Administrators are required to keep their license on them at all times when performing work on electrical projects, and present their license upon request. 

Direct all questions about the exam or examination process to PSI:

(800) 733-9267

OR

Contact: Jerry Hannasch- Department Licensing Examiner:

907-465-8443

Email: jerry.hannasch@alaska.gov

Website: Examination Schedule and Candidate Information

How Long is an Alaska Electrical Contractor License Valid?

All Electrical Administrator license categories are good for a period of 2 years in the State of Alaska.  Licenses expire on December 31st of the odd-numbered year.

For a copy of the renewal application, please visit:

Applications and Forms

The above link also offers links for online renewal.

The cost to renew a license is between $100 and $200 depending on the initial number that the contractor was issued.

Upon renewal, all licensed Electrical Administrators are required to submit proof that they have attended an 8 hour continuing education workshop, in order to stay up to date with the most current National Electric Code and safety standards.

Continuing education may also be completed in the form of formal correspondence or an individual study program.

All continuing education must be approved by the Department in order to count toward the requirement.

For more information about approved continuing education and what counts toward the requirement, please visit:

Approved Continuing Education Courses

For questions about renewal or the renewal process, please contact the Department:

907-465-8443

Email: jerry.hannasch@alaska.gov

OR

Visit: Online Application Process

Table of Fees

Fee What is it For? When is it Due?
$250 Non-fundable License and Application Fee Upon submitting the license application
$150 Examination Fee and Exam re-take Fee Upon registering to take or re-take the exam
$100-$200 Renewal Fee (based on license issuance number) Every 2 years upon renewal

Related Posts

Electrical Contractor Licensing in North Dakota

Electrical Contractors in the State of North Dakota may not perform or offer to perform electrical work without a license.  This applies to any person or business who intends to install, repair, alter, add-onto, supervise, plan or layout electrical wiring, apparatuses and equipment used for light, heat or power.  Licenses are issued by the North Dakota State Electrical Board.

The Board is responsible for ensuring that all applicants have the knowledge and skills necessary to perform electrical work.  As part of the licensing process, the Board requires contractors to meet a minimum number of hours of work experience and/or education, and pass an examination related to electrical codes and safety standards.

License Classifications and Categories for Electrical Contractors in North Dakota

The North Dakota State Electrical Board offers the following license classifications and categories to Electrical Contractors:

  • Master Electrician License- this license class offers 3 different categories:
    1. Contracting Master Electrician- responsible for overseeing all electrical work and ensuring that the work complies with the laws and rules of North Dakota wiring standards.
    2. Master of Record- responsible for ensuring that all electrical work performed by a partnership, company, corporation, association or LLC is in compliance with the rules and laws of North Dakota wiring standards. The contractor may not perform work on another property unless it is owned or leased by the organization they are overseeing.
    3. Non-contracting Master Electrician- holds the same responsibility as a Journeyman and must work under the supervision of a Contracting Master Electrician or Master of Record.
  • Journeyman Electrician License- allows the individual to perform electrical installations, repairs, alterations and additions under the supervision of a licensed Contracting Master Electrician or Master of Record.
  • Class B Electrician License- allows the contractor to perform farmstead and residential wiring on one and two-family dwellings. All work must be done under the supervision of a Contracting Master Electrician or Master of Record.
  • Apprentice Electrician Registration- allows the individual to learn the electrical trade while working under the direct supervision of a licensed Master or Class B Electrician.

For more information about the license classifications and categories offered, and the scope of work they are allowed to perform, please contact the Board at:

701-328-9522

Process to Obtain an Electrical Contractor License in North Dakota

  1. Contractors must meet the work experience and education requirements for their chosen license classification.
  2. Contractors are required to complete and submit the application to the Board along with all the required documents and fees in order to gain approval to take the examination
  3. Contractors must take and pass a technical and practical examination related to electrical laws, codes and safety standards, administered by the Board
  4. Contractors must pay an additional licensing fee upon passing the exam
  5. Contractors must attend 8 hours of Board-approved continuing education courses every year upon renewal.

Work Experience, Education and Training Requirements

All contractors must gain approval from the Board to take the examination.  In order to gain approval, the contractor must complete and submit an application, along with proof that they meet the Board’s requirements for work experience, education and training, based on their chosen license classification:

  • Master Electrician- all categories must prove a work history with a minimum of 10,000 hours, including at least 1 year of experience working as a licensed Journeyman under the direct supervision of a licensed Contracting Master Electrician or Master of Record.
  • Journeyman Electrician- must have a minimum of 8,000 hours of work experience earned over a period of 3 years. They must also prove that they have been previously registered as an apprentice and successfully completed a training program.  If the contractor is a graduate of a 2-year electrical school, approved by the Board, up to 2,000 hours may be credited toward the work experience requirement.  All Journeyman applicants are required to have a minimum of 4,000 hours of practical experience.  Credit is given for the any combinations of the following types of experiences:
    • Up to 1,000 hours for the repair of electrical wiring used for light heat and power
    • Up to 1,000 hours for the wiring of fire alarm technology circuits and systems
    • Up to 1,000 hours for wiring process control circuits or systems
    • Up to 2,000 hours of electrical construction experience gained in the U.S. armed forces
  • Class B Electrician- must have a minimum of 3,000 hours of experience performing farmstead or residential wiring for one and two-family homes and dwellings. All work must be performed under the supervision of a licensed Master or Class B Electrician.  If the contractor is a graduate of a 2-year electrical school, approved by the Board, it may count toward 1,000 hours of the work experience requirement.  The Board does not accept commercial wiring experience for this license class.
  • Apprentice Electrician- must register with the Board within 6 months of becoming employed. Apprentices may work under the employment and supervision of a licensed Master or Class B Electrician.  During this time they are responsible for completing 576 hours of training classes, recognized by the U.S. Department of Labor’s Office of Apprenticeship.  Additionally, they must acquire 8,000 hours of work experience installing and repairing electrical wiring, apparatuses and equipment, over a period of 3 years.  The Board also accepts the completion of a 2-year approved electrical school along with 8,000 hours of work experience gained over 3 years.
    *For more information about approved Apprenticeship Training program providers, please visit:
    https://www.ndseb.com/licensing/apprenticeship-information-registration/

In order to prove work experience, the contractor’s current and previous employers must complete the Electrical Employment Verification Record, which is included in the application packet.  Each employer must separately fill out and verify the contractor’s experience. All employment verification forms must be signed by the contractor’s employers, as well as the Master Electrician who supervised their work.  All forms must also be notarized.

*If additional room is needed, contractors may make copies of this form. 

The verification form must include a list of jobs with the specific number of hours of work performed, as well as inspection and licensing information.  Instructions for self-employed individuals are also included in the application packet.

The Board does not accept any of the following items as proof of work experience:

  • Union Records or Letters
  • Social Security Records
  • Verification Forms from Other States
  • Employer Letters

If the contractor is using education to satisfy the experience requirements, they must provide a copy of their official, sealed transcripts for the school they attended.  Please note, in order to count toward the requirement, the school must be approved by the Board.

All Journeyman applicants must provide a copy of their completion certificate from the apprenticeship training program they attended.

For questions and information about the work experiences and education/ training that counts toward the requirement, contact the Board at:

701-328-9522

OR

Visit: Qualifications for Licensure

Preparing and Submitting an Application

For a copy of the license application, please visit:

Application for an Electrician’s License

For a copy of the apprenticeship registration application, please visit:

Apprenticeship Registration Form

It is important that contractors carefully read and follow all instructions included in the application packet.  Please note that the Board returns all incomplete applications.  If an application is returned as incomplete, the contractor will be required to re-submit the application, and in some cases, re-pay the application fee.

Be sure to sign and date the application and include all required documents, including employment verification and proof of education.

All Master Electrician and Class B Electrician applicants must provide proof of general liability insurance in the following amounts:

  • Master Electricians- $500,000
  • Class B Electricians- $250,000

These license classes are also required to make a deposit to the Board’s undertaking fund, which is designed to be used for the completion of any projects abandoned by the contractor.  For more information about deposits and insurance, please visit:

Electrical Contractor Guidelines and Requirements

All contractors are also required to submit a non-refundable application fee:

  • Master Electricians- $50
  • Journeyman Electricians- $25
  • Class B Electricians- $40
*Make fees payable to, “NDSEB.”

Please note that there is an additional licensing fee which is due at the time the contractor passes the examination.  For more information about license fee amounts, call the Board at:

701-328-9522

Mail the completed application along with all the required documents and fees to:

North Dakota State Electrical Board
P.O. Box 7335
Bismarck, ND 58507-7335

Applications are also accepted in-person at the Board’s physical address:

1929 N. Washington Street, Suite A-1
Bismarck, ND 58507

Direct all questions about the application and application process to the Board by calling:

701-328-9522

OR

Visit: Applying for an Electrical License

The Examination

It takes approximately 30 days for the Board to process license applications.  At the time the Board approves the contractor’s application, they will issue an invitation to take the exam.  This invitation will include a list of available exam dates.

It is the contractor’s responsibility to contact the Board and let them know the exam date they have chosen.  Contractors are required to take the exam within the allotted time-frame, otherwise they will be required to re-submit an application and pay the fee.

The licensing exam is a 2-part test, covering both technical and practical aspects of electrical installations.  The Board tests contractors to ensure that they have the skills and knowledge needed to perform electrical work, and to protect the public by ensuring that all work performed is up to safety codes and standards.

The minimum passing score for the exam is 70%.

For more information about the exam or the examination process, please contact the Board at:

701-328-9522

How Long is a North Dakota Electrical Contractor License Valid?

All electrical license classifications and categories are good for a period of one year in the State of North Dakota.  Licenses are renewed each year.

The Board offers online renewal for licensees.  When preparing to renew a license online, the following is needed:

  • License Number
  • Last 4 digits of SSN
  • Valid credit card (Visa or Mastercard accepted)

Each year upon renewal, contractors are required to attend 8 hours of Board-approved continuing education courses.  Of the required 8 hours, 4 hours must be related to the most current National Electric Code.  The remaining hours must be in subjects related to the electrical industry.

*Any credits received for continuing education are valid for up to 2 license renewal periods. 

For more information about continuing education, please visit:

Continuing Education Requirements

For more information about the license renewal process and renewal fees, please contact the Board at:

701-328-9522

OR

Visit: License Renewal

Table of Fees

Fee What is it For? When is it Due?
$50 Application Fee for a Master Electrician License category Upon submitting the license application
$25 Application Fee for a Journeyman Electrician License Upon submitting the license application
$40 Application Fee for a Class B Electrician License Upon submitting the license application.
*For more information about additional fees, including licensing fees, examination fees and renewal fees, please contact the North Dakota State Electrical Board by calling:
701-328-9522

Related Posts

Electrical Contractor Licensing in Vermont

The Vermont Division of Fire Safety is responsible for the licensing of various trades-related professions throughout the state, including Electrical Contractors.  The Division’s Electrical Safety Program and Licensing Board helps to reduce the risk of  injuries and fatalities by requiring licensing for all persons performing electrical work.

The Board ensures that all Electrical Contractors have the skills and knowledge to perform work on electrical projects by adhering to and enforcing nationally recognized safety codes.  As part of the licensing process, contractors are required to meet the Board’s requirements for work experience and training, and pass an exam. (more…)

Related Posts

Electrical Contractor Licensing in Wyoming

In order to perform electrical work in the State of Wyoming, contractors must hold a license or registration from the Wyoming Department of Fire Prevention and Electrical Safety.  The Department ensures that all individuals and businesses have the proper skills, knowledge and experience, and that all work is done in accordance with the most current National Electric Code (NEC).

As part of the licensing process, contractors are required to meet the Department’s requirements for work experience, education and/or training and pass (more…)

Related Posts

Electrical Contractor Licensing in Washington DC

Electrical Contractors working in the District of Columbia are required to hold a license from the DC Board of Industrial Trades.  Licensing is handled by the Board in connection with Pearson VUE.  Any person or business engaging in electrical work must be properly licensed, including all subcontractors and employees of an electrical contracting business.

The Board protects the health and well-being of the public within the District by ensuring that all persons have the skills and knowledge needed to perform electrical work.  As part of the licensing process, contractors are required to meet the requirements of their chosen license classification, and in some cases, pass a qualifying exam. (more…)

Related Posts

Electrical Contractor Licensing in New Hampshire

The State of New Hampshire Electrician’s Board requires all persons and businesses performing electrical installations, for the purpose of light, heat and power, to be licensed or registered.  Licensing is required regardless of the voltage the contractor is working with.  As part of the licensing process, Electrical Contractors are required to submit an application, and in some cases, pass an exam.

*At this time, the Board does not have a licensing requirement for those working with signaling circuits, such as fire alarm installations. 

 

License Categories for Electrical Contractors in New Hampshire

The Board offers the following license and registration categories to Electrical Contractors:

  • Master Electrician License
  • Journeyman Electrician License
  • High/Medium Voltage Electrician License
  • Apprentice Electrician Registration
  • High/Medium Voltage Electrician Trainee Registration
*The requirements for licensing and submitting an application vary depending on the license/registration type, or if the contractor is applying as an individual or a business. 

Work Experience, Education and Training Requirements

In order to qualify for a license/registration, contractors are required to meet the Board’s requirements for work experience, education or training, based on their chosen license category:

  • Master Electricians- must pass the Journeyman exam and obtain 2,000 hours of work experience, in the field, as a licensed Journeyman performing electrical installations.
  • Journeyman Electricians- must have 8,000 hours of work experience as an Apprentice working under a licensed Journeyman or Master Electrician. Additionally, Journeyman applicants must meet one of the following requirements:
    1. 600 hours of approved electrical schooling, including a minimum of 24 hours on electrical safety. Schooling may be broken down into blocks of 150 hours per year, including 6 hours per year on electrical safety; OR the applicant must have an associate’s degree or higher in an electrical curriculum
    2. 10 years of experience as a licensed Journeyman or Master Electrician in another jurisdiction; OR have taken and passed the Journeyman or Master exam.
      *For a list of approved electrical schools, please visit: NH Electrician’s Board Licensing Requirements
  • High/Medium Voltage Electricians- must prove that they have completed a state, federal or employer certification program that is approved by the Board.
    *Contact the Board for more information about approved programs:
    603-271-2219
  • Apprentice and High/Medium Voltage Trainees- must be employed and work under the direct supervision of a licensed Master Electrician or High/Medium Voltage Electrician. They must also be enrolled in an approved electrical school at the time that they are registered.

In order to count toward the work experience requirement, all experience must be “practical,” in a field or classroom setting, performing electrical installations.  Field experience must be under the direct supervision of a licensed Master Electrician.  All classroom education must meet various criteria and be approved by the Board.

All applicants must prove that they have a high school education or higher.

All businesses are required to employ a licensed Master Electrician or High/Medium Voltage Electrician to oversee all business affairs and supervise all electrical installations.

For more information about the work experience, education or training requirements for each license/registration category, call the Board at:

603-271-2219

OR

Visit: NH Electrician’s Board Licensing Requirements

Preparing and Submitting an Application

For a copy of the license application, please visit:

NH Electrician’s Board Application Forms

Be sure to read and follow all instructions on the application.  Applications must be typewritten or filled out by-hand, legibly.  Answer all questions on the application.  The Board will contact the contractor is they need further information or clarification.

All businesses, including corporations, partnerships, LLCs, LLPs and LPS must provide the following information/documents with their application:

  • Business contact information (name, address, phone number, email)
  • Type of business (electrical or high/medium voltage)
  • Information about the person in charge of all business affairs
  • License number and information about the Master Electrician or High/Medium Voltage Electrician who will be in charge of all work performed and supervise the business’ affairs
  • Signature of the Master Electrician or High/Medium Voltage Electrician who will be in charge and supervise business affairs
  • Certificate of Good Standing from the New Hampshire Secretary of State

Applicants must provide information regarding their work experience, education and training, including:

  • Basic information about current/former employer, nature of business, employment dates and description of duties performed
  • Name, location, dates attended, courses and certificates/degree obtained for any electrical-related schooling, education or training programs
  • Name and address of 3 references that have direct knowledge of the contractor’s work and professional character. References may not be related to the applicant.
  • Signature of the licensed electrician verifying the applicant’s work experience
*If the contractor has any felony or criminal convictions, or if they have ever had a license revoked, suspended or sanctioned, they must provide information on the application. 

All contractors must attach a photo of themselves to the application.  Photographs may not be older than 6 months.

Be sure to sign and date the application.

All license fees and examination fees (if applicable) must be submitted along with the application.  The Board does not accept cash payments.  Payments must be made in the form of a check, made payable to, “Treasurer, State of NH.” Credit card payments are also acceptable.  When making a payment by credit card, use the payment sheet, located inside the application packet.

The license fee is broken down into a base payment that is to be made over the 3-year license term:

  • Master Electricians- $90 per year
  • Journeyman Electricians- $50 per year
  • High/Medium Voltage Electricians- $90 per year
  • Apprentice Electricians- $30 per year (registration term only 12 months)
  • High/Medium Voltage Electricians- $30 per year (registration term only 12 months)

The amount due at the time the application is submitted depends on the contractor’s birth month.  To view a schedule of fees, please visit:

NH Electrician’s Board Fee Schedule

There is also a $50 examination fee for all Master and Journeyman Electrician applicants.

Submit the completed application, along with all the required documents and fees to:

New Hampshire Joint Board
121 South Fruit Street
Concord, NH 03301

*Applications are accepted by-mail or in-person. 

For more information about completing the application or the application process, contact the Board at:

603-271-2219

The Examination

All Master Electrician and Journeyman Electrician applicants are required to take and pass an exam in order to receive their license.

An examination is not required if the contractor is applying for a High/Medium Voltage Electrician license, or if the contractor is registering as an Apprentice or High/Medium Voltage Trainee.

Contractors must take the exam through an approved testing vendor, as determined by the Board, such as the International Code Council (ICC).  For more information about approved testing vendors, please call the Board:

603-271-2219

OR

Visit: International Code Council- Certification and Testing

The Board requires that Journeyman and Master Electricians pass an exam related to:

  • National Electric Code (NEC) as copyrighted by the National Fire Protection Association (NFPA)
  • Practical applications and electrical installations
  • Administrative rules

It is the contractor’s responsibility to make an appointment with the testing vendor to take the exam.  The testing vendor will notify the contractor of the date, time and location of their exam.

Contractors must pass the exam with a minimum score of 70%.

At the time the contractor passes the exam, they will receive their license.

How Long is a New Hampshire Electrical Contractor License Valid?

Electrical Contractor license categories are good for a period of 3 years in the State of New Hampshire.  Trainee and Apprentice registrations are good for a period of 12 months and must be renewed each year to remain valid.

The cost to renew a license/registration is:

  • Master Electrician License- $270
  • Journeyman Electrician License- $150
  • High/Medium Voltage Electrician License- $270
  • Apprentice Electrician Registration- $30
  • High/Medium Voltage Electrician Trainee Registration- $30

Upon renewal, all licensed Master, Journeyman and High/Medium Voltage Electricians are required prove that they meet the Board’s requirement for continuing education.

Contractors must attend 15 hours of continuing education related to the latest, updated National Electric Code as published by NFPA.

Continuing education must be completed within 12 months of January 1st, at the time that NFPA publishes the latest NEC changes.

For more information about continuing education and for a list of approved continuing education providers, please visit:

NH Electrician’s Board Continuing Education Requirements

For more information about renewing a license or registration, contact the Board at:

603-271-2219

Table of Fees

Fee What is it For? When is it Due?
$90 Yearly Master Electrician Licensing Fee. Upon submitting the license application.  The amount due at the time the application is submitted depends on the contractor’s birth month
$50 Yearly Journeyman Electrician Licensing Fee Upon submitting the license application.  The amount due at the time the application is submitted depends on the contractor’s birth month
$90 Yearly High/Medium Voltage Electrician Licensing Fee Upon submitting the license application.  The amount due at the time the application is submitted depends on the contractor’s birth month
$30 Apprentice Electrician and High/Medium Voltage Electrician Registration Fee Upon submitting the registration application
$50 Examination Fee for Master and Journeyman Electricians Upon submitting the license application
$270 Renewal Fee for all Master and High/Medium Voltage Electricians Every 3 years upon renewal
$150 Renewal Fee for all Journeyman Electricians Every 3 years upon renewal
$30 Renewal Fee for all Apprentice and High/Medium Voltage Trainees Every 12 months upon renewal

Related Posts