Home » Mississippi
Category Archives: Mississippi
Electrical contractors in the State of Mississippi are required to hold a license when performing work on electrical projects of $10,000 or more. Licenses are issued by the Mississippi State Board of Contractors. As part of the licensing process, contractors are required to submit an application to the Board and pass a 2-part examination.
Contractors who plan to work on electrical projects under $10,000 are not required to obtain a license from the state; however they must contact their local building official or permit office to determine what is required.
License Types and Classifications for Electrical Contractors in Mississippi
The Mississippi Board of Contractors offers two different license types to Electrical Contractors:
- Commercial License
- Residential License
*Residential license holders may work on commercial projects under 7500 square feet.
The following license classifications are available for individuals and businesses who intend to perform electrical work:
- Master Electrician
- Alarm Systems/Access Systems/ Security Equipment
- Communication Systems/ Low Voltage Electrical
- Energy Management
- Installation of Automated Meter Reading Equipment
- Instrumentation- Electrical
- Transmission and Distribution Lines- Electrical
- Turbine Generator Maintenance and Repair
- Underground Cable Installation
- Traffic Control- Electrical
- Sign Electrician
- Elevators and Escalators
- Conveyor Systems
Applicants are required to complete a Commercial or Residential application and indicate that they intend to perform electrical work. Electrical Contractors must hold an electrical classification in order to perform electrical work.
Please note that despite holding a Commercial or Residential contractor license, Electrical Contractors are not able to bid or work on the building construction or mechanical aspects of a project unless they also hold a license within that classification.
For questions about the license types and classifications available to Electrical Contractors, contact the Board at:
(Toll Free) 800-880-6161
Process to Obtain an Electrical Contractor License in Mississippi
- Contractors must decide the type of license and classification they wish to obtain
- Contractors must choose someone within their business to act as a qualifying party. This person is responsible for passing the exam and overseeing all work performed by the contractor.
- Contractors must complete and submit the appropriate application, along with all the required documents and fees, including proof of insurance
- The qualifying party must take and pass the Business & Law and Trade Examinations for the contractor’s chosen classification, administered by PSI Services
- The qualifying party for all Residential licensees is required to obtain 2 credit hours of continuing education each year upon renewal.
Preparing and Submitting an Application
In order to gain approval from the Board to take the exam, all contractors are required to prepare and submit an application.
For a copy of the Commercial Application, please visit:
For a copy of the Residential Application, please visit:
Be sure to read and follow all instructions included in the application packet. When filling out the application, type or print neatly. Do not leave anything blank. If a question does not apply, indicate, “N/A” (not applicable).
All applications must be signed, dated and notarized.
It is important that all applicants read and stay current with the laws and guidelines that apply to contractors working within the state.
To view the laws that apply to Commercial Contractors, please visit:
To view the laws that apply to Residential Contractors, please visit:
All contractors are required to submit the following information and provide the following documentation along with their application:
- Contractors must choose someone within their business to act as a qualifying party. This person is in charge of overseeing all work performed by the business, and must take and pass the exam on the business’ behalf. Sole Proprietors may act as their own qualifying party. In order to prove employment with the contractor, the qualifying party must submit one of the following:
- Copy of Article of Incorporation listing the individual as an officer
- Contractors must submit 3 letters of reference, including a letter from a bank or financial institution, and two letters from someone for whom the contractor has worked for or with on electrical-related projects.
- Contractors must provide a list of at least 3 electrical-related jobs they have completed.
- Contractors must provide proof of general liability insurance. There is no minimum insurance requirement for Residential applicants. Commercial applicants are required to prove coverage in the minimum amount of $300,000 per occurrence and $600,000 aggregate.
- Any business with 5 or more employees must prove that they have worker’s compensation coverage.
- If the contractor’s business is an LLC, LLP or corporation, they must register with and prove that they are in good standing with the MS Secretary of State. For more information please call:
*For more information about the qualifying party, please visit:
Mississippi Board of Contractors- Qualifying Party
All Commercial applicants must provide the following:
- Contractors must provide a reviewed financial statement, prepared and signed by a Certified Public Accountant within the past 12 months, showing assets, liabilities and a net worth of at least $50,000.
- Contractors are required to provide their MS sales tax or MS use tax number. For more information, contact the MS Department of Revenue at:
All Residential applicants must provide the following:
- Contractors must provide their MS Income Tax ID number, Federal Tax ID number or Social Security number. For more information, contact the MS Department of Revenue at:
All contractors are required to attach the appropriate application fee:
- Commercial Applicants- $400
- Residential Applicants- $50
The Board accepts payments in the form of check or money order, made payable to, “Mississippi Board of Contractors (MSBOC)”
Submit the completed application, along with all the required documents and fees to:
P.O. Box 320279
Jackson, MS 39232-0279
The Board’s physical address is:
2679 Crane Ridge Drive, Suite C
Jackson, MS 39216
Once the Board reviews and approves the application, they will issue approval to take the exam, and send the qualifying party the examination information.
*All required information and documents must be submitted to the Board within 180 days of submitting the application, otherwise the application will be thrown out.
For more information about the application or application process, contact the Board at:
(Toll Free) 800-880-6161
The Examination Process
The qualifying party is required to take and pass a 2-part, open-book, computer-based exam, including:
- Business & Law Exam- related to laws and rules in the State of Mississippi
- Trade Exam- related to the contractor’s chosen electrical classification
The Board holds a contract with PSI Services to administer the examination. Once the Board approves the contractor’s application, they will send the exam information, including PSI’s Candidate Information Bulletin.
To view a copy of the bulletin, please visit:
The PSI Candidate Information Bulletin contains all the information needed to register for and prepare for the exam, including the exam registration form, a list of suggested references and study materials, content outline of the test, sample test questions.
Applicants may register for the exam ONE of the following ways:
- Online- go to the PSI website and follow the link for new user registration: PSI Exams Online
- By Phone- call PSI and use their automated system 24 hours a day. Representative are standing by to assist callers during regular business hours:
- Fax- when registering by fax, allow 4 business days for processing. Fax the registration form and payment information to:
- By mail: allow approximately 2 weeks for processing when submitting the exam registration form by mail. Complete the exam registration form from the Candidate Information Bulletin. Mail the registration form and payment to:
PSI Licensure: Certification
3210 E Tropicana
Las Vegas, NV 89121
The cost to take both portions of the exam is $240. The cost to take only one portion of the exam is $120.
PSI accepts payments in the form of:
- Cashier’s Check or Money Order may payable to“PSI.”
- Visa or Mastercard when applying online or by phone or fax
Once PSI accepts the exam registration form, it is the applicant’s responsibility to call PSI to schedule their exam. To schedule an exam, call PSI at: (800) 733-9267
Exams are given at the following address:
2679 Crane Ridge Drive, Suite B
Jackson, MS 39216
PSI also offers testing centers in the neighboring state of Louisiana and Alabama.
On the day of the test, examinees should arrive at least 30 minutes for before their scheduled test to allow time for check-in. They are also required to bring 2 forms of identification, including:
- A government issued photo id with the examinee’s signature; such as a driver’s license or passport
- Another form of identification with the examinee’s name and signature; such as a credit card or debit card.
The qualifying individual is required to pass the exam with a score of at least 70%. Scores are issued at the end of the exam.
If the contractor does not pass the exam on the first attempt, they are allowed an unlimited number of re-takes. The cost to re-take one portion of the exam is $120. The cost to re-take both portions of the exam is $240.
Upon passing the exam, it will take the Board approximately 1 week to 10 days to issue the contractor’s license.
For more information about the exam or the examination process, please call PSI at:
How Long is a Mississippi Electrical Contractor License Valid?
Commercial and Residential Electrical Contractor licenses are good for a period of one year in the State of Mississippi. Contractors are required to renew their licenses annually.
Renewal may be completed online or by mail. For a copy of the renewal application, please visit:
Upon renewal, all contractors are required to provide the following information:
- Proof of current, up-to-date general liability insurance
- Proof of current, up-to-date workers compensation insurance (if required)
- Proof of good standing with the MS Secretary of State (if required)
The cost to renew a license is:
- Commercial License- $400
- Residential License- $100
If the contractor holds a Residential license, the qualifying party is required to complete 2 credit hours of Board-approved continuing education each year upon renewal. Commercial licensees do not have a continuing education requirement at this time.
To view a list of Board-approved continuing education providers, please visit:
For more information about continuing education, please visit:
For more information about renewing a license, please contact the Board at:
(Toll Free) 800-880-6161
Table of Fees
|Fee||What is it For?||When is it Due?|
|$50||Application Fee for a Residential License||Upon submitting the license application|
|$400||Application Fee for a Commercial License||Upon submitting the license application|
|$120||Cost to take or re-take one portion of the examination||Upon registering for the exam or scheduling a re-take|
|$240||Cost to take or re-take both portions of the exam||Upon registering for the exam or scheduling a re-take|
|$400||Renewal Fee for a Commercial License||Every year upon renewal|
|$100||Renewal Fee for a Residential License||Every year upon renewal|
The State of Mississippi holds reciprocal license agreements for General Contractors licensed in the following states:
- South Carolina
Reciprocal agreements with the states listed above allow General Contractors to obtain a license to work on construction projects in Mississippi without having to take and pass the MS Trade Exam. This is due to the similarities in the information covered on the reciprocal state’s Trade Examinations.
Reciprocal License Classifications in Mississippi
General Contractors have the option of obtaining a license or certificate of responsibility in the State of Mississippi, depending on the type of work they plan to perform. Licenses and certificates are issued by the Mississippi State Board of Contractors (MSBOC).
A license is required to work on (more…)
The State of Mississippi requires general contractors, both residential and commercial to hold a license or certificate of responsibility from the Mississippi State Board of Contractors (MSBOC). A license is needed for any residential project, including roofing, worth $10,000 or more. Commercial contractors are required to obtain a certificate of responsibility when working on any project worth more than $50,000.
The process to obtain a license or certificate varies slightly for residential and commercial contractors; however both classes are required to hold the proper forms of insurance and pass a qualifying examination. The two-part exam covers the trade of general contracting and contracting laws in the State of Mississippi.
Contractors must fill out and submit (more…)