The State of Nevada requires any individual or business that performs the work of an Electrical Contractor to hold a license. A license is required any time the cost of the project is over $1,000, including labor and materials. Licenses are issued by the Nevada State Contractors Board.
As part of the licensing process, contractors must meet the Board’s requirements for work experience and pass an exam related to business management, construction law and the trade of electrical contracting. The contractor must meet the Board’s requirements; or choose someone within their company to act as a qualifying individual and meet the requirements on their business’ behalf.
License Classifications for Electrical Contractors in Nevada
To perform the work of an Electrical Contractor in the State of Nevada, contractors must apply for a:
- Class C-2 Specialty Contractor License
Class “C” licenses cover all specialty trades that contractors may perform. “C-2” relates to the electrical trade.
For more information about the license classifications offered by the Board, please visit:
Process to Obtain an Electrical Contractor License in Nevada
- Contractors/ qualifying individuals must meet the Board’s requirement for work experience.
- Contractors must meet various financial requirements to determine a monetary limit for their license.
- Contractors must complete and submit a license application to the Board, along with the required documents and fees.
- Contractors must take and pass the Business & Law and Trade exam, administered by PSI Services.
- Upon passing the exam, contractors/ qualifying individuals must pay the license fee, submit a bond and provide proof of insurance, in order to receive their license.
Work Experience Requirement
Contractors who plan to operate a business have the option of choosing someone within their business to act as a qualifying individual. The qualifying individual is responsible for meeting the work experience requirement and passing the exam on the contractor’s behalf.
Persons who may act as a qualifying individual include:
- Active employee
- Member or Manager
To qualify for a license, the Board requires that all contractors/ qualifying individuals have at least 4 years of full-time work experience as a:
In order to count toward the requirement, all work experience must be within the past 10 years.
To prove work experience, contactors must submit 4 notarized reference certificates along with their license application. Reference certificates must be from someone with first-hand knowledge of the contractor/qualifying individual’s experience. Acceptable persons include:
- Other Contractors
- Other Journeyman
- Union Representatives
- Building Inspectors
- Architects and Engineers
- Clients/ Customers
Additionally, all contractors/ qualifying individuals are required to submit a detailed resume with their license application. Resumes must include the following:
- Information about past/present employers
- Dates of employment
- Details about electrical work performed
*All self-employed persons should include information about past/current clients instead of employers.
The Board does not have any education requirements for contractors to meet; however, in some cases, education and training received from an approved and accredited college, university or equivalent program may be used to satisfy a portion of the work experience requirement.
Education and training may be used to satisfy no more than 3 years of the work experience requirement.
To prove education and training, contractors/ qualifying individuals must submit written proof, including copies of transcripts or apprenticeship certificates.
Copies of the reference certificates and the Resume of Experience are found inside the license application packet.
For more information about the work experience requirement, please visit:
Preparing and Submitting an Application
For a copy of the license application, please visit:
Be sure to read and follow all instructions in the application packet carefully. Use ink or type and print the application. Be sure to sign and date the application. Make sure that all the required information is included to avoid delays in the licensing process.
A complete application includes the following:
- Reference Certificates
- Resume of Experience
- Financial Statement
- Background Disclosure
Please note that all applicants are required to provide a business or personal financial statement with their application. Businesses must include a classified balance sheet. Individuals must include a schedule showing working capital and net worth.
The type of financial statement the contractor must provide depends on the amount of money they plan to make performing electrical work. Financial statements help the Board set a monetary limit for each license.
- For limits of $10,000 or less- contractors must provide a current financial statement prepared by an independent CPA. The Board also accepts statements prepared on the form they provide. In some cases, self-prepared statements and balance sheets are accepted.
- For limits over $10,000 but under $250,000- contractors must provide a compiled financial statement prepared by a CPA within the past 6 months or and audited/reviewed financial statement prepared by a CPA within the past year.
- For limits over $250,000- contractors must provide a reviewed/audited financial statement prepared by a CPA within the past year.
Additionally all applicants are required to have their bank complete a verification, and submit it along with the application. The Board offers indemnification to applicants who would not otherwise qualify. The contractor may use the financial strength of another individual or business on their own behalf.
*Indemnification forms are available on the Board website.
For more information about the financial statement requirements, please visit:
If the contractor is operating an LLC, LLP, LP or corporation, they are required to register their business with the Nevada Secretary of State.
There is a non-refundable $300 application processing fee. Be sure to submit this fee along with the application.
Submit the application along with all the required documents and fees, in-person or by-mail to one of the following addresses:
2310 Corporate Circle, Suite 200
Henderson NV 89074
9670 Gateway Drive, Suite 100
Reno NV 89521
Be sure to respond promptly to any further requests of information from the Board. There will be a bonding requirement and initial licensing fee, which is due at the time that the contractor/ qualifying individual passes the exam.
Once the Board approves the contractor’s license application, they will issue a contingent approval letter, which indicates that they qualify to receive a license, once they have met all of the final licensing requirements, including:
- passing the exam
- obtaining bonding and insurance
- paying the licensing fee.
If the contractor’s application is approved, they will also receive an exam eligibility letter which authorizes the contractor/ qualifying individual to take the exam with PSI Services. The letter will contain a Candidate ID Number which is needed at the time the contractor/ qualifying individual schedules their test.
For more information about preparing and submitting an application, please visit:
The Examination Process
The Board holds a contract with PSI Services to administer the exam. The contractor/qualifying individual is required to pass a 2-part, computer-based exam, covering:
- Business & Law- covering business management and construction law
- Trade Exam- covering topics related to the electrical trade
At the time the contractor’s application is approved and they receive the exam eligibility letter, they will also receive PSI’s Candidate Information Bulletin. This bulletin contains important information about the exam, registration and scheduling information, as well as study and reference materials.
For a copy of the bulletin, please visit:
Applicants may register for the exam ONE of the following ways:
- Online- go to the PSI website and follow the link for new user registration: psiexams.com
- By Phone- call PSI and use their automated system 24 hours a day. Representative are standing by to assist callers during regular business hours:
- Fax- when registering by fax, allow 4 business days for processing. Fax the registration form and payment information to:
- By mail: allow approximately 2 weeks for processing when submitting the exam registration form by mail. Complete the exam registration form from the Candidate Information Bulletin. Mail the registration form and payment to:
PSI Licensure: Certification
3210 E Tropicana
Las Vegas, NV 89121
The cost to take both portions of the exam is $140, which is due upon registration. The cost to take only one portion of the exam is $95.
PSI accepts payments in the form of:
- Cashier’s Check or Money Order may payable to“PSI.”
- Visa or Mastercard when applying online or by phone or fax
Once PSI accepts the exam registration form, it is the applicant’s responsibility to call PSI to schedule their exam. To schedule an exam, call PSI at: (800) 733-9267
Testing centers are located in:
- Las Vegas
On the day of the test, examinees should arrive at least 30 minutes for before their scheduled test to allow time for check-in. They are also required to bring 2 forms of identification, including:
- A government issued photo id with the examinee’s signature; such as a driver’s license or passport
- Another form of identification with the examinee’s name and signature; such as a credit card or debit card.
Contractors/qualifying individuals are given 3 attempts to pass the exam. If the contractor fails the exam on the first attempt, they must wait 2 weeks before they may schedule a re-take. If the contractor fails the exam 3 times, they must wait 30 days and start the application process over again.
Upon passing the exam, the contractor must complete the final licensing requirements from the Board in order to receive their license. PSI will pass the contractor/ qualifying individual’s passing exam scores along to the Board.
For more information about the examination process, please visit:
Final Licensing Steps
At the time that the contractor/ qualifying individual passes the exam, they must complete the final licensing requirements/ steps outlined in their contingent approval letter, in order to receive their license. This includes:
- Paying the license fee- there is a $600 initial licensing fee.
- Providing proof of insurance- all contractors are required to prove that they are in compliance with the state’s workers compensation laws, or they must provide proof that they are exempt.
- Register with the Residential Recovery Fund- all residential electrical contractors are required to pay into this fund. The required amount is between $100 and $500, depending on the contractor’s monetary limit.
- Submit a surety bond or cash deposit in the required amount- the amount is between $1,000 and $5,000 based on the following criteria:
- Monetary limit
- Financial Responsibility
*Bonds must be continuous without lapse in coverage, and obtained from a company authorized to conduct business in the State of Nevada. Cash deposits must be in the form of a cashier’s check, made payable to the Board. All cash deposits are subject to administrative fees.
Once the contractor has completed the final licensing steps, the Board will issue a license, including a wall certificate and a pocket card. Both of these items will contain the contractor’s license number, classification and expiration date.
Contractors must carry their pocket card on them at all times when conducting business. The wall certificate must be prominently displayed in the contractor’s primary place of business.
For more information on the bonding requirements, please visit:
How Long is a Nevada Electrical Contractor License Valid?
Electrical Contractor license in the State of Nevada are good for a period of 2 years. Licenses are renewed every 2 years, expiring on the last day of the month they were originally issued.
The cost to renew a license is $600.
At renewal time, all residential contractors are also required to pay into the Residential Recovery Fund to remain current.
For more information about the license renewal process, contact the Board’s Northern or Southern Nevada office locations at the following numbers:
Northern Nevada: 775-668-1141
Southern Nevada: 702-486-1100
Office hours are from 8am to 5pm, Monday through Friday.
Table of Fees
|Fee||What is it For?||When is it Due?|
|$300||Application Processing Fee||At the time the contractor submits their license application|
|$140||Examination Fee- to take both portions of the exam||At the time the contractor/ qualifying individual registers for the exam|
|$95||Cost to re-take 1 portion of the exam||At the time the contractor/ qualifying individual re-registered to re-take the exam|
|$600||Initial Licensing Fee/ Renewal Fee||At the time the contractor/ qualifying individual passes the exam and every 2 years upon renewal|
|$100- $500||Residential Recovery Fund Fee (Residential Contractors ONLY)||At the time the contractor/ qualifying individual has passed the exam|