Any person or business performing construction-related contracting in the State of New Mexico is required to hold a license. This includes Electrical Contractors, according to the state’s Construction Industries Licensing Act. Licenses are issued by the Construction Industries Division (CID) of the New Mexico Regulation and Licensing Department.
As part of the licensing process, all business owners are required to act as, or choose someone within their company to act as a Qualifying Party (QP). The QP is responsible for becoming certified and overseeing all electrical work performed by the business. The QP must prove a number of years of work experience and pass a qualifying exam on the business’ behalf in order to gain certification. Afterward, the business must apply for a license.
License Classifications for Electrical Contractors in New Mexico
The CID offers the following license classifications to contractors and journeyman performing electrical work:
- EE98/ EE98J: Residential and Commercial Electrical Contractor License
- ER1/ ER1J: Residential Electrical Contractor License
- ES1J/ES-1: Sign Electrician Contractor License
- EL1J/ EL-1: Electrical Distribution/ Transmission Contractor License
- ES2J/E5-2: Cathodic Lighting Protection Contractor License
- ES3J/ ES-3: Low Voltage Electrical Contractor License
- ES7J/ ES-7: Telephone Electrical Contractor License
For more information about the license classifications for Electrical Contractors, and the scope of work those classifications are allowed to perform, contact PSI Services at:
Process to Obtain an Electrical Contractor License in New Mexico
- Contractors must act as or employ someone who meets the CID’s requirements for work experience based on their chosen license classification. This person is known as the Qualifying Party (QP)
- The QP must complete and submit a Work Experience Verification form in order to prove that they meet the work experience requirement
- The QP must register for, take and pass the Business & Law exam, as well as the Technical Trade exam related to their classification
- The contractor’s business must submit a licenses application, along with all the required documents and fees in order to obtain their license
- Contractors must renew their license every 3 years
Qualifying Party and Work Experience Requirement
All business owners must act as or choose someone within their company who will act as a Qualifying Party (QP). The QP is responsible for meeting the CID’s requirements for work experience, as well as taking and passing a qualifying examination.
Once the qualifying party receives their certificate, they are responsible for overseeing all work performed by the business.
The CID holds a contract with PSI Services to offer licensing and examination services. In order to qualify to take the exam, the QP must meet the requirements for work experience, based on the chosen license classification:
|License Classification||Number of Years of Work Experience Required|
|2 Years / 4,000 Hours|
|4 Years / 8,000 Hours|
In some cases, education and technical training may count toward a portion of the work experience requirement. Education and training may not be used to satisfy more than 50% of the work experience requirement.
*Only Journeyman applicants may use education and training to satisfy the entire work experience requirement (except for those applying for EE98J and ER1J).
All experiences must be within the past 10 years in order to count toward the requirement. All work experiences must be gained while employed by a licensed electrical contractor.
In order to prove that the QP meets the work experience requirement for their classification, they must complete and submit a
Work Experience Verification form to PSI Services.
To avoid delays in the licensing process, be sure to read the entire packet and follow all directions. Please note that PSI does not accept forms that are incomplete or illegible. Be sure to answer all questions and leave nothing blank.
The top portion of the affidavit must be completed by the QP who is claiming the work experience, education or training. The experience form must be filled out by someone who can verify that they have first-hand knowledge of the contractor’s experience. Such persons include:
- Current/ Former Employer
- Other Contractors
*Submit as many forms as needed to verify work experience, education and training.
Supervisors and Foreman verifying the QP’s work experience must submit proof of their position within the company, as well as proof that the company is valid and active, such as:
- Tax Certificates
- Business License listing the company name
- Corporation Papers
If the QP is claiming education or formal training, they must submit copies of official transcripts and completion certificates.
The Work Experience Verification form must be signed and notarized. All attachments must be signed by the person verifying the QP’s experience. Be sure to include a self-addressed, stamped envelope with the completed forms for further correspondence from PSI.
Submit the completed Work Experience Verification form by mail or in-person to:
2301 Yale Blvd SE
Albuquerque, NM 87106
It usually takes PSI between 7 and 10 business days to process and approve work experience verifications. Those who are approved to take the exam will be sent an eligibility card with information about registering for and scheduling the exam.
The Examination Process
The CID holds a contract with PSI Services to administer the licensing exam. All QPs must register to take the exam within 6 months of receiving their eligibility card from PSI.
The Qualifying Party (QP) is required to take and pass a 2-part, computer based examination:
- Business & Law Exam
- Technical Trade Exam (based on the license classification)
PSI’s Candidate Information Bulletin provides all the information needed to prepare for and register for the exam, including the exam registration form, study materials, suggested references, exam content outlines and sample test-questions.
Applicants may register for the exam ONE of the following ways:
- Online– follow the link for new user registration
- By Phone- call PSI and use their automated system 24 hours a day. Representative are standing by to assist callers during regular business hours:
- Fax- when registering by fax, allow 4 business days for processing. Fax the registration form and payment information to:
- By mail: allow approximately 2 weeks for processing when submitting the exam registration form by mail. Complete the exam registration form from the Candidate Information Bulletin. Mail the registration form and payment to:
PSI Licensure: Certification
3210 E Tropicana
Las Vegas, NV 89121
The cost to take the exam is:
· $68.88- Business & Law Exam
· $68.88- for each Technical Trade Classification Exam
PSI accepts payments in the form of:
- Cashier’s Check or Money Order may payable to“PSI.”
- Visa or Mastercard when applying online or by phone or fax
Once PSI accepts the exam registration form, it is the applicant’s responsibility to call PSI to schedule their exam. To schedule an exam, call PSI at: (800) 733-9267
Testing Centers are located in:
- Santa Fe
- Las Cruces
- Durango, CO
- El Paso, TX
- Amarillo, TX
- Lubbock, TX
- Midland, TX
On the day of the test, examinees should arrive at least 30 minutes for before their scheduled test to allow time for check-in. They are also required to bring 2 forms of identification, including:
- A government issued photo id with the examinee’s signature; such as a driver’s license or passport
- Another form of identification with the examinee’s name and signature; such as a credit card or debit card.
Qualifying Parties (QPs) must pass both portions of the exam with a minimum score of 70%. Scores are issued same-day, before the QP leaves the testing center.
Upon passing the examination, the QP will be allowed to represent a business that is applying for a license. The QP will be responsible for overseeing all work performed by the business they are representing once they receive their certificate.
For more information about the examination process, contact PSI at:
Preparing and Submitting an Application
In order to obtain a license, contractors are required to submit an application, along with the following:
- Contractors must check to see if their business name is unique and available for use. All business names must then be registered with the Public Regulation Commission.
- Contractors must obtain and submit proof that they have a New Mexico tax ID number with an official stamp or registration certificate. For more information, contact the New Mexico Taxation and Revenue Department at:
- If the contractor’s business is a Limited Liability Company (LLC), corporation, Limited Liability Partnership (LLP) or Limited Partnership (LP), they must submit proof that they have registered their business with the NM Secretary of State. For more information, contact the Secretary of State at:
- Contractors must prove financial responsibility by submitting a license bond in the amount of $10,000.
- Contractors must include a valid qualifying party certificate or the passing exam score report with their application, proving that the QP has met the work experience requirement and passed the exam.
- All contractors who employ workers must obtain Workers Compensation Insurance. For more information, please contact the Workers Compensation Administration at:
There is a non-refundable application fee of $36, which includes a $6 certificate fee. There is also a $150 fee per license classification. The license fee for a Journeyman is $75.
*The total cost to apply for an EE98 license classification is $300.
Be sure to submit the license and application fees as two separate payments, in the form of check or money order, made payable to “PSI.”
Submit the completed application to:
2301 Yale Blvd S.E.
Albuquerque, NM 87106
Be sure to include a self-addressed, stamped envelope with the application submission. If the application is approved, the CID will issue the contractor’s license.
For more information about the licensing or application process, contact PSI at:
How Long is a New Mexico Electrical Contractor License Valid?
Electrical Contractor license classifications are good for a period of 3 years in the State of New Mexico. All licenses expire 3 years from the date of their issuance.
The CID mails out renewal forms prior to expiration. However, it is the contractor’s responsibility to ensure that their license is renewed on-time.
Be sure to submit a signed, notarized renewal application. Additionally, contractors are required to submit updated bond and workers compensation insurance information, as well as a self-addressed, stamped envelope and their renewal fee.
The cost to renew a license is $150 per classification, or $300 if renewing an EE98 license class.
For more information about the license renewal process, contact PSI at:
Table of Fees
|Fee||What is it For?||When is it Due?|
|$68.88||Cost to take the Business & Law portion of the exam||Upon registering for the examination|
|$68.88||Cost to take the Technical Trade portion of the exam||Upon registering for the examination|
|$36||Application and Certificate Fee for the License Application||Upon submitting the license application|
|$150||License fee per classification that the contractor is applying for||Upon submitting the license application|
|$75||Cost to apply for a Journeyman license||Upon submitting the license application|
|$300||Total cost to apply for an EE98 license classification||Upon submitting the license application|
|$150||Renewal fee per license classification that the contractor is trying to renew||Every 3 years upon renewal|
|$300||Renewal fee to renew a class EE98 license||Every 3 years upon renewal|