Home » Utah » Electrical Contractor Licensing in Utah

Electrical Contractor Licensing in Utah

  • SumoMe

Electrical Contractors in the State of Utah are required to hold a license when performing electrical work of all kinds, according to the state’s Electrician Licensing Act Rule.  Licenses are issued by the Utah Division of Occupational and Professional Licensing (DOPL).

As part of the licensing process, contractors are required to meet a minimum number of years of education/training and work experience.  Additionally, contractors are required to pass a qualifying exam covering code, theory and practical skills.

License Classifications for Electrical Contractors in Utah

The Utah Division of Occupational and Professional Licensing (DOPL) offers the following license classifications to Electrical Contractors:

  • Master Electrician License- allows the contractor to work on the design, planning, layout, installation, alteration, addition, or repair of electrical conductors, fixtures, appliances and apparatuses.
  • Residential Master Electrician License- allows contractors to work on the design, planning, layout, installation, alteration, addition or repair of electrical conductors, fixtures, appliances and apparatuses in a residential setting, including residential dwellings with up to 3 stories and single, multi-family dwellings. Residential projects are limited to 250 volts line to line and 125 volts to the ground.
  • Journeyman Electrician License- allows contractors to install, alter, add-onto or repair electrical conductors, fixtures, appliances and apparatuses.
  • Residential Journeyman Electrician License- allows contractors to install, alter, add-onto or repair electrical conductors, fixtures, appliances and apparatuses in a residential setting, including residential dwellings with up to 3 stories and single, multi-family dwellings. Residential projects are limited to 250 volts line to line and 125 volts to the ground.

The DOPL also offers licensing to Apprentice Electricians.  For more information, please visit the Apprentice Application.

OR

Call the DOPL at:

801-530-6628

Process to Obtain an Electrical Contractor License in Utah

  1. Contractors must choose a license classification and make sure that they meet that classification’s requirements for education/training and work experience
  2. Contractors must complete and submit a Verification of Eligibility form to prove that they meet the experience/training requirements for their chosen classification.
  3. Upon receiving approval to take the exam, all contractors are required to register for and schedule their test with PSI, including paying the examination fee
  4. Contractors must pass a 3-part exam, covering code, theory and the application of practical skills
  5. Contractors must pay a licensing fee and submit an application to DOPL upon passing the exam in order to receive their license
  6. Contractors are required to complete continuing education courses upon renewal

Work Experience, Education and Training Requirement

In order to qualify to sit for the exam, all contractors are required to prove that they meet the requirements for work experience, education and training, based on their chosen license classification:

  • Master Electrician License- contractors must have 4 years/ 8,000 hours of on-the-job training as a licensed Journeyman Electrician; OR an Associate’s Degree in Applied Science and 2 years/ 4,000 hours of on-the-job training as a licensed Journeyman; OR a Bachelor’s/Master’s degree in Electrical Engineering with 1 year/ 2,000 hours of on-the-job training as a licensed apprentice.
  • Residential Master Electrician License- contractors must have 2 years/ 4,000 hours of licensed, on-the-job training as a licensed Residential Journeyman Electrician; OR hold a Bachelor’s/Master’s degree in Electrical Engineering with 1 year/ 2,000 hours of on-the-job training as a licensed apprentice.
  • Journeyman Electrician License- contractors must have 4 years/ 576 hours (144 hours per year) of Board-approved education and 4 years/ 8,000 hours (2,000 hours per year) of licensed, on-the-job training; OR a total of 8 years/ 16,000 hours (2,000 hours per year) of on-the-job training.
  • Residential Journeyman Electrician- contractors must have 2 years/ 288 hours (144 hours per year) of Board-approved education and 2 years/ 4,000 hours (2,000 hours per year) of on-the-job training; OR 4 years/ 8,000 hours (2,000 hours per year) of licensed, on-the-job training.

In order to count toward the education/ training requirement:

  • All educational and training programs attended must be approved by the Utah Board of Regents, the Utah College of Applied Technology Board or trustees or another equivalent state program.
  • School semesters must consist of at least 81 hours of classroom instruction.
  • Contractors must pass all educational and training courses with a minimum of 75%.
  • College courses and programs must be accredited by the Engineering Accreditation Commission (EAC) or the Accreditation Board for Engineering and Technology (ABET).

For a further break-down of the exact number of hours needed to satisfy the work experience requirement for each license classification, please visit the Electricians Licensing Act Rule.

Contractors are required to provide documentation of all education/training and work experience.

In order to gain approval to take the exam, contractors must fill out the Verification of Eligibility form, located inside the Candidate Information Bulletin.  This form asks contractors to document their work experience and education/training.

The DOPL holds a contract with PSI Services.  PSI is responsible for determining eligibility and administering the examination.

After PSI determines that the contractor is eligible to take the exam, based on their education/training and work experience, they will send the contractor an email, letting them know that they may register for the exam.

For more information about how to qualify for a license classification in order to take the exam, please contact DOPL at:

801-530-6628

OR

By Email

The Examination Process

DOPL holds a contract with PSI Services to administer the examination.

The PSI Candidate Information Bulletin contains all the information needed to prepare for and register for the exam, including the exam registration form, suggested references and study materials, content outlines, and sample test questions.

Contractors are required to pass a 3-part exam, including:

  • Code Exam- open-book, computer based test, covering the application of electrical theories and calculations
  • Theory Exam- open-book, computer-based test covering basic electrical theory, knowledge and calculations
  • Practical Exam- pass/fail exam that requires hands-on practical knowledge of conduits, switches, motors, controls and transformers, in addition to trouble-shooting and general knowledge. This is a closed-book examination.  Reference materials are not allowed into the testing center.

Applicants may register for the exam ONE of the following ways:

  • Online– follow the link for new user registration
  • By Phone- call PSI and use their automated system 24 hours a day.  Representative are standing by to assist callers during regular business hours:
    (800) 733-9267
  • Fax- when registering by fax, allow 4 business days for processing.  Fax the registration form and payment information to:
    (702) 932-2666.
  • By mail: allow approximately 2 weeks for processing when submitting the exam registration form by mail.  Complete the exam registration form from the Candidate Information Bulletin.  Mail the registration form and payment to:
PSI Licensure: Certification
3210 E Tropicana
Las Vegas, NV 89121

The cost to take each portion of the exam is:

·         Code Exam- $72
·         Theory Exam- $86
·         Practical Exam- $72

*Exam fees are non-refundable.

PSI accepts payments in the form of:

  • Cashier’s Check or Money Order may payable to“PSI.”
  • Visa or Mastercard when applying online or by phone or fax

Once PSI accepts the exam registration form, it is the applicant’s responsibility to call PSI to schedule their exam.   To schedule an exam, call PSI at:  (800) 733-9267

Testing Centers are located in:
·         Hurricane (St. George)
·         North Orem (Provo)
·         North Salt Lake City
·         Salt Lake City
·         Sunset

On the day of the test, examinees should arrive at least 30 minutes for before their scheduled test to allow time for check-in.  They are also required to bring 2 forms of identification, including:

  1. A government issued photo id with the examinee’s signature; such as a driver’s license or passport
  2. Another form of identification with the examinee’s name and signature; such as a credit card or debit card.

Contractors are required to pass the exam with a score of at least 75% in each portion.

Scores for the Theory and Code portions of the exam will be issued on the day of the exam, before the contractor leaves the testing center. Scores for the Practical exam will be issued by mail within 15 days of taking the test.

*Exam scores are not given out over the phone. 

Exam scores are valid for a period of 1 year.  During that time, contractors must take any portion of the exam that they were unsuccessful in passing on the first attempt.

Contractors are required to wait 25 days between tests for any exam re-takes.  However, if the contractor has taken the exam more than 2 times, the must wait 120 days before they may schedule a re-take.

For questions about the exam or the examination process, contact PSI at:

800-733-9267

Preparing and Submitting an Application

Upon passing the exam, PSI will forward the contractor’s scores electronically to DOPL.

At this time the contractor must complete and submit a license application to DOPL along with the required documents and processing fee.

Download a copy of the license application.

There is a $110 non-refundable processing fee that must be submitted along with the application.  DOPL accepts payments in the form of check or money order, made payable to “DOPL.” 

*Do not send cash payments. 

Submit the completed application in-person or via express delivery to:

Division of Occupational and Professional Licensing
Herber M Wells Building
1st Floor, Lobby
160 E 300 S
Salt Lake City, UT 84111

OR

Submit the application, payment and documents via regular mail to:

Division of Occupational and Professional Licensing
P.O. Box 146741
Salt Lake City, UT 84114-6741

Upon receiving the contractor’s passing exam scores, application and processing fee, the DOPL will issue the contractor’s license.

For questions about the application or license issuance process, contact the DOPL at:

801-530-6628

OR

By Email

How Long is a Utah Electrical Contractor License Valid?

Electrical Contractor license classifications are good for a period of 2 years in the State of Utah.  Licenses expire on the 30th of November every 2 years.

The cost to renew a license is $63.  Payments are accepted via check or money order.

*Cash payments are not accepted.

DOPL also offers online renewal, allowing the contractor to pay by credit card.  For more information about online renewal and receiving a unique ID number that will allow the contractor to access their license online, contact DOPL.

Upon renewal, all contractors are required to attend 16 hours of approved continuing education course, focusing on 12 hours of core education and 4 hours of professional education.

For a break-down of continuing education and a list of approved courses, please visit the State’s searchable, online approved course system.

*All continuing education courses must be approved by the DOPL in order to count toward the requirement. 

Table of Fees

Fee What is it For? When is it Due?
$72 Cost to take the Code portion of the exam Upon registering for the examination
$72 Cost to take the Theory portion of the exam Upon registering for the examination
$86 Cost to take the Practical portion of the exam Upon registering for the examination
$72 Cost to re-take any portion of the examination Upon re-registering for the exam
$110 Application processing fee Upon submitting the license application
$63 Cost to renew a license Every 2 years upon renewal

Related Posts