The Nebraska Contractor Registration Act states that all General Contractors and subcontractors engaging in construction must register with the Nebraska Department of Labor if they make more than $5,000 per year. This includes contractors performing construction, alterations, reconstruction, repairs, installations or additions. The only contractors who are exempt from registration are property owners performing construction and repairs on their own property, or businesses that earn less than $5,000 per year.
The Nebraska Department of Labor does not have an education or work experience requirement to obtain registration. Contracts are also not required to pass a qualifying exam to become registered in the State of Nebraska. However, contractors are required to complete the registration process, pay the fee and prove that they hold the proper insurance.
Process to Obtain General Contractor Registration in Nebraska
- Contractors must gather the proper information needed to complete the online registration process
- If the contractor plans to employ workers, they must obtain worker’s compensation insurance showing the Department of Labor as the certificate holder
- Contractors must go to the Department of Labor website and follow the directions to complete the online Contractor Registration process
- Contractors must review and submit their online registration to the Department of Labor
- Contractors are required to submit a $40 registration fee in the form of a check or money order, unless exempt
Preparing to Submit a Registration Application
For convenience, the Nebraska Department of Labor offers a step-by-step online registration application process for General Contractors. To begin the registration process, visit the link below and click the pink text that reads “Start Registration Process”:
The contractor will need the following information and documents in order to complete the registration process:
- Basic information about the contractor’s business, including:
- Business type
- Business name
- Business owner’s name
- Valid address, phone number and email address for the business
- Valid Social Security Number for sole proprietors
- Tax and insurance identification numbers, including:
- Federal ID number
- Unemployment Insurance Tax ID number
- Proof of Worker’s Compensation insurance if employing workers
- Name and contact number for worker’s compensation insurance provider
*Visit the Department of Labor website for more information on Contractor Sales Tax options.
All contractors are required to carry worker’s compensation insurance if they employ one or more workers. For the registration to remain active, contractors must keep their insurance current and up-to-date at all times. The worker’s compensation insurance certificate must list the Department of Labor as the certificate holder.
If the business owner wants someone to receive important information for the business on their behalf, they may choose someone within their company to act as a Registered Agent. The Registered Agent must be a full-time employee, partner, officer or member within the business. They must also be available at the business address that the contractor provides during registration. The Registered Agent may perform the following duties on behalf of the business:
- Receive important tax document
- Receive legal documents including law suit notifications
- Receive official notifications and documents for the business
*All out-of-state contractors are required to choose an in-state Registered Agent.
Follow all directions and read all questions carefully when completing the online registration application. If the contractor makes a mistake or needs to correct something during the online registration, there is an option to edit the information before submitting the application. Be sure to review all the entered information carefully before submitting.
Submitting the Registration Application
Registration applications are submitted online when the contractor completes the process using the online wizard. However, the contractor will need to have a printer accessible at the end of the process to print out vouchers and affidavits as needed.
Contractors are also required to submit the following documents and fees to the Department of Labor:
- Worker’s Compensation Insurance Certificate- listing the Department of Labor as the certificate holder
- $40 Registration Fee- in the form of check or money order, made payable to “Department of Labor.” Cash payments are not accepted.
*Additional fees may apply for out-of-state contractors and project permits.
Sole proprietors who do not employ workers, or pay less than $3,000 per year to employees are exempt from paying the registration fee. If the contractor is exempt from paying the fee, they must complete the online Affidavit for Contractor Registration Fee Exemption. Visit the link below to complete this affidavit:
The Department of Labor requires that all fee exemption affidavits be signed by a notary public before they are submitted. Be sure to bring a valid driver’s license, passport or visa when having the affidavit notarized.
For more information about General Contractor registration in the State of Nebraska, contact or visit the Department of Labor office at:
Nebraska Department of Labor
Labor Law/Contractor Registration
550 So. 16th Street
Lincoln, NE 68508
Phone Number: 402-471-2239
Fax Number: 402-471-5039
How Long is a Nebraska General Contractor Registration Valid?
Registration is good for a period of one year in the State of Nebraska. Contractors are required to renew their registration once a year. Prior to the registration expiration, the Department of Labor will mail the business a renewal letter. This letter will contain a registration and voucher number, which are needed for the renewal application.
The Department of Labor offers an online renewal service for contractors, which is very similar to the online registration process for new contractors. Enter the registration number and voucher number the Department of Labor provides and follow the instructions for renewal.
Follow the link below for renewal:
Table of Fees
|Fee||What is it For?||When is it Due?|
|$40||Contractor Registration Fee||Upon completing the online registration process, unless the contractor is exempt|